Plenary Speakers

Prof. Yuan T. Lee 李遠哲 

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1986
1986年 諾貝爾化學獎得主

Affiliation at the time of the award: University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA
Prize motivation: "for their contributions concerning the dynamics of chemical elementary processes."

Yuan Tseh Lee (Born in 1936) is a Taiwanese chemist and a Professor Emeritus at the University of California, Berkeley. He was the first Taiwanese Nobel Prize laureate who, along with the Hungarian-Canadian John C. Polanyi and American Dudley R. Herschbach, won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1986 "for their contributions to the dynamics of chemical elementary processes".
Lee's particular physical chemistry work was related to the use of advanced chemical kinetics techniques to investigate and manipulate the behavior of chemical reactions using crossed molecular beams. From 15 January 1994 to 19 October 2006, Lee served as the President of the Academia Sinica of Taiwan. In 2011, he was elected head of the International Council for Science.

Prof. Akira Suzuki 鈴木章

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2010
2010年 諾貝爾化學獎得主

Affiliation at the time of the award: Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan
Prize motivation: "for palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis."

Akira, Suzuki (Born in 1930), is Japanese organic chemist. Suzuki was one of the recipients of Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2010, with Richard Heck and Ei-ichi Negishi for their research during the 1960s and 70s on palladium-catalyzed coupling reactions in organic synthesis. Their work, carried out independently, laid the foundation for the synthesis of chemicals for uses in such areas as pharmaceuticals, agricultural products, and advanced technological materials.

Sir Prof. J. Fraser Stoddart

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016
2016年 諾貝爾化學獎得主

Affiliation at the time of the award: Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA
Prize motivation: "for the design and synthesis of molecular machines."

Sir James Fraser (born in 1942) is a Scottish chemist who is Board of Trustees Professor of Chemistry and head of the Stoddart Mechanostereochemistry Group in the Department of Chemistry at Northwestern University in the United States. He works in the area of supramolecular chemistry and nanotechnology. Stoddart has developed highly efficient syntheses of mechanically-interlocked molecular architectures such as molecular Borromean rings, catenanes and rotaxanes utilizing molecular recognition and molecular self-assembly processes. He has demonstrated that these topologies can be employed as molecular switches. His group has even applied these structures in the fabrication of nanoelectronic devices and nanoelectromechanical systems (NEMS). His efforts have been recognized by numerous awards including the 2007 King Faisal International Prize in Science. He shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry together with Ben Feringa and Jean-Pierre Sauvage in 2016 for the design and synthesis of molecular machines.

President Prof. Qi-Feng Zhou 周其鳳 

President of International Union of Pure And Applied Chemistry
國際純化學和應用化學聯合會 會長
Professor Qi-Feng Zhou holds a BS degree from Peking University, MS and Ph.D from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst USA.
He served as the executive dean of the Graduate School of Peking University for 6 years, and the Director General of the Office of Academic Degrees Committee of the State Council and Director General of Department of Postgraduate Education of the Ministry of Education. He has received national and ministerial awards in recognition of his significant contributions.
Prof. Zhou has served as vice president of the Chinese Chemical Society since 2010 and is the former President of Jilin University and Peking University. As Academician of Chinese Academy of Sciences, Professor Zhou has been deeply involved in the study of liquid crystalline polymers with 200+ papers and books, including a textbook on liquid crystalline polymers published by World Scientific Publishing Co.

President Dr. Bonnie A. Charpentier

President of American Chemical Society
美國化學學會 會長
Senior Vice President of Regulatory Affairs and Compliance in Cytokinetics
Dr. Charpentier obtained her Ph.D. in Biology from the University of Houston. She has served on the Board of Directors of the American Chemical Society, including as Chair of the Board.
Bonnie joined Cytokinetics in January 2014 as Senior Vice President of Regulatory Affairs and Compliance. Prior to joining Cytokinetics, Bonnie served as Vice President of Regulatory and Quality at Metabolex, Inc. (now CymaBay Therapeutics). From 2001 to 2006 she served as Vice President of Regulatory and Quality at Genitope Corp. From 1995 to 2001, she held regulatory positions at Roche Global Development, a division of F. Hoffman-La Roche Ltd., including Vice President and Regulatory Site Head in Palo Alto, California. Prior to that, she held regulatory positions of increasing responsibility at Syntex Corporation. She began her career as an analytical chemist at Procter and Gamble Co. in Cincinnati, Ohio.

Vice President Prof. Valery N. Charushin

Vice-Chairman of the Russian Academy of Sciences
Chairman of the Ural Branch of the RAS
Director of I. Postovsky Institute of Organic Synthesis

俄羅斯科學院 副院長
Prof. Dr. Valery Charushin was born in 1951 in a small settlement near Ekaterinburg, which is located just on the border between European and Asian parts of Russia (the Urals Region). After graduating the Urals State Technical University (USTU) in 1973, he joined the Organic Chemistry Department of USTU as a post-graduate student. In 1976 he maintained the thesis “Reactions of azinium cations with aromatic nucleophiles” under the guidance of Prof. Oleg N. Chupakhin and got the degree «Candidate of Chemical Sciences» (similar to Ph.D). During the next 10 years he has been doing a research work at the Department of Organic Chemistry of the Urals State Technical University (Ekaterinburg, Russia), and also in Agricultural University of Wageningen (the Netherlands) (1981-1982, 1988) where he worked under the guidance of Prof. H.C. van der Plas. In 1987 he maintained his doctoral dissertation “Reactions of azines with bifunctional nucleophiles”, got the degree “Doctor of Chemical Sciences”, enabling him to get the position of a Full Professor of Organic Chemistry in USTU.

Prof. Chi-Huey Wong 翁啟惠 

9th President of the Academia Sinica
Chi-Huey Wong is a Taiwanese-born American biochemist. He is Scripps Family Chair Professor of chemistry at The Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, California, and Distinguished Research Fellow at the Genomics Research Center, Academia Sinica, Taiwan. His expertise is bioorganic and synthetic chemistry, especially in carbohydrate chemistry and chemical biology.
He was elected as a member of Taiwan's Academia Sinica in 1994, the American Academy of Arts and Science in 1996, United States National Academy of Science in 2002.

Prof. Eiichi Nakamura

Presidential Endowed Chair Professor of the University of Tokyo
Prof. Nakamura was born in Tokyo and received his B.S. and Ph.D. degree in Tokyo Institute of Technology. After a postdoctoral work at Columbia University, he joined his alma mater as Assistant Professor in 1980, and moved to the University of Tokyo in 1995.  He is currently Molecular Technology Innovation Presidential Endowed Chair Professor in the Department of Chemistry, and a member of Science Council of Japan. He works in a diverse field of synthetic and physical chemistry of organic and inorganic matters with focus on their functions. He introduced in 2007 atomic resolution transmission electron microscopy for study of molecular motions and reactions at single molecule level.